Being a Water-Walker

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Best Books Pt. 2: Non-Fiction July 15, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — judgedbyhim @ 9:47 pm

Here’s the continuation of the previous list: the non-fiction section. Before I begin the list, I must say that “The Bible” by God (with around 40 scribes writing it down for Him) is the best book I have ever read. I shouldn’t need to say more!

1) “Mere Christianity” by C.S. Lewis. The absolute best exposition of the Christian faith I have ever heard. Lewis presents the logical, orderly side of God and His plan in a way I have never seen before. He shows how God has planned everything about our lives to point back to Him, starting with the simple reality of who we are as humans and how we function and leading logically into the existence of our Christian God. A wonderful book to read as a Christian to strengthen your faith and give you answers; also a great book to suggest to someone searching for truth. An absolute necessity! If you have never read this book, you are really missing out.

2) “Every Young Man’s Battle” by Stephen Arterburn and Fred Stoeker. I’m sure that the other books in this series are just as good. I know you might be thinking, “Why did this nutcase read this–she’s a girl!” Um, yeah. That was my thought when I was told to read it. Several dear friends (all male) told me every woman should read this book (or “Every Man’s Battle”), because it gave them insight on how guys think and what I can do as a woman to help the guys defeat the temptation. I took them at their advice and read the book. Wow! What a reality check for me! It’s hard, as a female, to grasp what guys go through. Definitely, every girl should read this, although it’s meant for guys. Every guy should read it, too, because I could see how the advice in it was strong, wise, and practical. Read it! I’m planning on reading “Every Woman’s Battle” soon.

3) “If You Want to Walk on Water, You’ve Got to Get Out of the Boat!” by John Ortberg. I’m only a little more than halfway through this one, but it is definitely wonderful. I love it! Refer back to my first blog post for an explanation of the virtues of this book.

4) “When God Writes Your Love Story” by Eric and Leslie Ludy. I recently read this book and found it absolutely wonderful. The authors were saying that God will bring His choice of partner for me into my life in His time, in His way. Then they said, “He doesn’t need you!” Wow! The thought that God didn’t even need me to help find my future spouse was amazing to me! It had enver occured to me before. I need do nothing bu be obedient. My next entry will be about that, I’m sure.

4) “I Kissed Dating Goodbye” by Joshua Harris. (Peter, I’m sure you’re familiar with this one!) I read this for the second time about a year ago and was impressed with the thoughtful exposition. I know some people shy away from this simply because of the title or the things they have heard about it. I would encourage you to read it even if you are wary of it. I think you will find he is not some fanatic trying to obliterate dating as we know it. He wants to redefine Christian dating (calling it courting) and show that Christians are different from the world and separated–sanctified.

5) “Boy Meets Girl: Say Hello to Courtship” also by Joshua Harris. This was even better than the last. What a beautiful picture of romance done right! I thoroughly enjoyed this book as I learned volumes from it. Definitely read this one, too.

6) “Jesus Freaks” by D.C. Talk. This is a compilation of true short stories about persecuted Christians. I cried all the way through this, and I don’t cry easily. Beautiful, powerful, and excruciatingly painful. Every story I read gave me a mixture of joy and sorrow. This is a fantastic book. One of the counselors here at camp reads these stories to her girls every evening in cabin devotions. The girls love these stories of sacrifice–I do, too.

–Katrina

 

One Response to “Best Books Pt. 2: Non-Fiction”

  1. mercenarysupport Says:

    Never heard of the last two. Maybe after I get the rest of my summer reading out of the way, (which won’t happen until this winder probably) I should check those out.


Leave a Reply

